Snoozers are Losers- I am addicted to the snooze button

A brilliant man, Antoine Redier invented an adjustable, mechanical alarm clock. A great invention that is now found in many houses, but then Lew Wallace, the person solely responsible for me being two hours late to work this past Sunday, came around and invented the SNOOZE BUTTON.

Every Sunday, I start work at 6 am, which is probably the worst day to start work so early, because I have a tendency to stay up late the night before. This weekend, of course, was no different. I stayed up late watching Netflix with my family. I didn’t get to bed till about 11.

Right before I fell asleep I set my alarm clock on my phone, “Alarm set for 5 hours and 45 minutes from now” the screen said, I quickly make sure the my phone is set as loud as it will go and I fall asleep.

… A wonderful five hours and 45 minutes later

BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP
WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……
EEEEEEEEEEE………. EEEEEEEEEE…………
WOOOOOOOOOP………WOOOOOOOOOP……….

5 more minutes, I am so tired.

SNOOZE

5 minutes later (4:45 AM)

BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP
WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……
EEEEEEEEEEE………. EEEEEEEEEE…………
WOOOOOOOOOP………WOOOOOOOOOP……….

No way, was that 5 minutes? …that felt like 2 minutes. Okay? Well, I am not even hungry; I will just skip breakfast and get 10 more minutes of sleep.

SNOOZE

 

10 minutes later (4:55)

BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP
WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……
EEEEEEEEEEE………. EEEEEEEEEE…………
WOOOOOOOOOP………WOOOOOOOOOP……….

There is no way that we will have traffic on Sunday. Right? And if there is not traffic I can get to work in like… no time…. 10 minutes

SNOOZE

 

10 minutes later (5:05)

BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP…… BEEP
WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……WEEEE-OOOOH……
EEEEEEEEEEE………. EEEEEEEEEE…………
WOOOOOOOOOP………WOOOOOOOOOP……….

I can’t snooze that alarm clock again. Aww, my covers are so warm. How about like 2 minutes? NO! I’ve got to get up. Just 2 minutes. I won’t even go to sleep. Just 2 minutes…

2 hours and 20 minutes later (7:25)

HEY? WHAT TIME IS IT? F*CK! OOOH MY GOD. TWO MISSED CALLS? HOW DID I NOT HEAR THEM? WHERE IS MY SHIRT? OMG!

Today, more than a third of American adults hit the snooze button at least three times each morning, and more than half of people ages 25 to 34 press snooze daily. It is not just I. In the past few years the snooze button has become my guilty pleasure that has got me into trouble countless times, and again on Sunday when I showed up to work 2 hours late.

Why do I always find any excuse to snooze my alarm to get more sleep in the morning? Why I am willing to skip breakfast and lie to myself that there is not going to be traffic? And more importantly how do I break this habit?

I know the snooze sleep isn’t good sleep. But somehow, I keep snoozing.

The most common cause for snooze addiction is a straightforward lack of sleep. I am a college student; I am programed to do anything possible just to skip sleep, so going to bed earlier on Saturday… it is not likely going to happen. I have to figure out a short cut to get me out of bed in the morning that actually works.

So, I went online and I found some useful tips that can help me develop better long- term sleep habits.

  • Putting my alarm clock out of reach.

Put alarm on the other side of the room so when it goes off I am forced to get out of bed.

  • Heat up my room

So on cold mornings when I need an extra bit of motivation, I will set the central heating to start warming the bedroom half an hour before my alarm, or I will get an electric heater with a simple timer.

  • Radio

Don’t hit the snooze button. I will just set the alarm to the radio and let it play until I get out of bed.

How to you wake up in the morning? Alarm or no alarm? Easy off or challenging off? Snooze or no snooze?

4 thoughts on “Snoozers are Losers- I am addicted to the snooze button

  1. I loved the outline of your thoughts in the morning that kept you in bed. The information in the beginning and tips at the end were both interesting and insightful!I can relate- I have to leave my alarm out of reach because it has happened to me numerous times where I hit the snooze button or turn off my alarm without even knowing I did. Hope it works for you like it did for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

