Hunting Instincts in My Fridge

What is in my fridge? Pickles, bacon, butter, mustard, hot sauce, cheddar cheese, barbecue sauce, bread, eggs, green onion, ketchup, mayonnaise, milk, tomatoes, taco shells, left over chicken, salsa, and yogurt….

How do I know that?

Because I open it when I am bored, I open it when I am sad or mad, I open it when I am tired or lonely, and of course when I am hungry.

How often is that?

On Thursday, October 1, I opened my fridge 10 times that I can remember.

(1)When I first went down steers after I got dressed for school. Then (2) one more time before I left for class, and both of those times I didn’t take anything out. I didn’t even eat breakfast. As soon as I got back from school around 3, I opened it once again (3), but this time I actually grabbed something out . . . I opened and closed it again before work (4) and as soon as I got back (5). If that is not enough I checked it again a few more times while watching TV at night when the commercials came on (6 , 7, 8) and one last time before I went to bed (9), but I couldn’t sleep that night, so I opened it for a midnight snack (10).

        Nothing has magically appeared and nothing has magically disappeared and like I said most of the time when I open it I am not even hungry, then why do I do it?

The weird thing is, I feel a little depressed whenever I open my fridge.

Many people go to the fridge for reasons other than hunger. Why do we stare into the fridge, walk away, come back and repeat?

  • For most people it is boredom.
  • Some actually have a craving for something but don’t know what it is…
  • Some people will look for a quick and easy snack. They see nothing so they walk away, but then the brain tell them that there must be something there so they go back,
  • Some actually believe that something will actually show up that they didn’t see before.
  • Obsessive-compulsive disorder. Sounds bad and scary, but almost 1/3 of the entire human population develops this disorder. The behavior or thought of having to do something repeatedly in order to feel comfortable. If you don’t accomplish the said behavior or routine you experience anxiety, helplessness, or even anger.

Are you in any of those groups or a mixture of a few?

In my mind, fridge is the hunger fulfillment, but can it be a place to find other fulfillment? The cure for our boredom, our sadness, our loneliness, our anger, and our insecurities are not in the fridge. So when we open the fridge for any reason other than hunger, expecting, even sub-consciously for a solution to anything other than hunger, we become depressed and disappointed.

Or maybe my brain needs a “Comfort Food”. My fridge is not filled with Raspberry-Swirl Sweet Rolls, Apple French Toast, Chocolate Mint Bars, Classic Fudge-Walnut Brownies, or Lemon-Scented Blueberry Cupcakes.

Is it a good idea to have “Comfort Food” in your fridge? Or is it just a horribly- unhealthy (physically and mentally) way to eat your problems away?

7 thoughts on “Hunting Instincts in My Fridge

  1. This is a great topic to blog about. I find myself looking in the fridge for no reason at all almost all the time! The only critique I have is that there is a few typos. Overall, I like this post because it is relatable and funny.

    Like

  2. I was going through your list thinking of how to make a dish out of the ingredients 😛 Pretty sure I have opened my fridge numerous times for all those reasons, especially when I’m at home! The tie to opening the fridge to replace other fulfillment you feel you need is a really interesting concept. I believe when most people are bored they tend to open their fridge, I know I do. I have comfort food in my fridge at school but I often remind myself of what else I had that day which sometimes convinces me to put it back 😛

    Like

  3. Oh the fridge! What a wonderful luxury. Maybe we open it because we can. There is all that food, ready to make life more wonderful. There is it again! And again! I have a list of eat-first things. If I eat popcorn, apples, kefir, celery, egg, and STILL want comfort food, I have at it. If a crane is needed to get me out of my living room, will let you know.

    Like

  4. I never thought of the points you make here in this post…. as I find myself doing these as I am now aware. THANKS. Really, I find myself doing it because I am in fact bored or I do want something but eventually forget. This was a very interesting post, but in a good way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

