It Has Been One of Those Stressful Months

I am a full time student, but I also work about 30 hours a week and sometimes it gets a little overwhelming, because I don’t have very many days with leisure time. I have school Monday- Friday and I work Thursday- Sunday, so I basically always have something going on. Honestly, I haven’t had a day when I didn’t work or go to school since Monday, September 7, which was a Labor Day.

I am the second oldest of ten kids so even when I am at home, I do not have time to relax. There is always something to do, whether it be giving one of my younger siblings a ride somewhere or picking someone up or running errands. Most of the times I have to hide somewhere like Starbucks or the library to get my homework done. I don’t mind that kind of a life style; I like to stay busy, but I am pretty sure that this is the longest I have ever been with out a day off. I think it might be getting to me because I am constantly tired.

I try to get a full night of sleep, but trying to have a social life with a busy schedule sometimes prevents me doing so. I haven’t told very many people this, but the other day on my way to work, I blew a red light because I fell asleep. I didn’t get in an accident, but I came really close. It was a horrible experience, and I know I should slow down and take some time to relax and get some sleep and maybe even work less. However, I can’t do that until mid-December (end of semester). I need money to pay for school, gas, and my cell phone, and tons of other things. My instinct to go take a nap is not helping.

Sorry for complaining so much on this post. I just needed to get that out of my system. If you know any tips to stay on track at school, homework and studying, and working 30 hours a week, and keeping up with having at least a little bit of a social life, let me know.

7 thoughts on “It Has Been One of Those Stressful Months

  1. Although this isn’t like your typical Instinctive Fail posts, I can relate to this. Maybe it is this time of the semester that has everyone feeling hectic and chaotic. Even though I only have one sibling, my mom is one of nine kids in her family and I have many cousins so I can relate to the constant business of having people over at your house at all times.

    My only critique about this post is that I noticed a couple misspelled words.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hang in there! You’ve got a lot on your plate. Grew up the third of six myself, and know the feeling.

    Try taking a tiny bit of time every day — five or ten minutes. Go somewhere you won’t be disturbed (ask not to be disturbed). A study carrel, your bed, a broom closet. Take that time to completely relax, from your toes to your head and everything in between. Notice what’s going on physically, pains, aches, clenched jaw. Try to even and deepen your breathing. Used to do that during the “witching hour” when our kids were little, between 4 and 6 p.m., when I invariably felt like yelling at everyone, just lay down on the couch, maybe a child laying with me, and completely relax for a bit. Hard to make myself do it, but it was almost always a great recharge.

    Cheers, and good for you to be doing so much for yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting post! It really was something I didn’t expect to read; really a wildcard. You say you’re ranting and complaining on this post, but in reality , that is something we need to do as individuals! It feels a lot better to get something out instead of hold it in. I personally encourage people to rant. I can relatively relate to this situation. I haven’t been this stressed, but end of the semester, like every student, gets tough and sometimes gets to you bad. So hang in there, and the end of semester will come sooner than you think and you’ll feel a lot better!

    Like

  4. So scary:( I have been there. I almost hit a tree from dozing off on the wheel. What woke me was the car shaking from going off road and when I opened my eyes I was only a few feet away from a huge tree:( It is so important to give ourselves rest!

    Like

Leave a Reply

